Skip to content

Men call me Methuselah

March 7, 2022

           

men call me Methuselah..

they say I’m almost five thousand years old..

oh! how loud papers proclaim my fake longevity!

‘fake’..? yesss!

for..yikes! you can truly affirm I am alive..?

my dear friends..believe me:

I am not!

only the wrinkled bones of this old patriarch are still stuck in Mother Earth.

she kind and gently sustains my hard remains.

as a human skeleton standing on the ground

my twisted dry branches I stretch to the clear blue..

asking the northern wind to soon get rid of my decrepitude..

my trunk is hollow..home of some amusing mice..

kind of playground for naughty moles and nasty rats..

a shelter for orphan kittens and sick dogs 

abandoned by mean men..

well..at least..my frame can help a bunch of lonely friends..

you know..this is my pride!

maybe our Lord has left me upright to give some comfort to poor ones..I love them all!

apart from this..

I am a cemetery of butterflies and ants..

you know..my roots are rotten..I’ve got no leaves..

I am a tragic wooden ruin..a relic of the past

surrounded by the company of young bros..healthy bristlecones breathe near me..

the forest keeps the secret of my place..

I am protected by US laws! sounds like a joke? protecting this ugly shape of twisted forms!

if I could choose the way to finish my existence..mmmhhh..

I don’t want to be shown in a Science museum to be admired as an Egyptian mummy..no! 

I hope some day I’ll fall under the blade of a strong axe to be burnt in the womb of a fireplace..

I will love to warm a family..their kids at Christmas time..who knows..? perhaps next winter..

consumed by fire at last! what a great end!

so was my brother Prometheus..cut down..just a few years younger..

why not me..?

they go on counting all my rings..I’ll be more patient..for patience always achieves what you long for..besides..nothing lasts here forever..I’m waiting..I’m waiting..

my name is Methuselah..

I was a handsome pine in the White Mountains 

of an American far county..

you see..now my divine essence lives happily and evergreen in Paradise..

in God’s garden..surrounded by more trees…..

🔉 Audio https://drive.google.com/file/d/1z-OtXLylqS4OxzUb867Vq5SZQm8Yeaoe/view?usp=drivesdk

Dulcina©3.1.2022

No comments yet

Leave a comment